top of page

Federal Briefs

Bioethics in Law & Culture                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           Fall  2018        vol. 1  issue 4

A summary of Federal legislation from July to October 2018

Ana Brennan, J.D.



Over the past few months, Congress continued its typical trend of slowing down during the summer months. They have also been distracted with the upcoming mid-term elections. One major exception was the Senate's  contentious confirmation vote on Brett Kavanaugh for the United States Supreme Court.

On October 6, 2018, the Senate voted to confirm 50 to 48. Since the Senate rules were changed under Sen. Henry Reid (D-NV), only 50 votes are required for a nominee to be confirmed.

Only one democrat, Sen. Joe Manchin (WVA-D) voted to confirm. All republicans voted to confirm except Sen. Steve Daines (R-MT), who would have voted yes except he was not present because he was attending his daughter's wedding. Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) voted "present."

YES Votes



Lamar Alexander Tenn.

John Barrasso Wyo.

Roy Blunt Mo.

John Boozman Ark.

Richard M. Burr N.C.

Shelley Moore Capito W.Va.

Bill Cassidy La.

Susan Collins Me.

Bob Corker Tenn.

John Cornyn Tex.

Tom Cotton Ark.

Michael D. Crapo Idaho

Ted Cruz Tex.

Michael B. Enzi Wyo.

Joni Ernst Iowa

Deb Fischer Neb.

Jeff Flake Ariz

Cory Gardner Colo.

Lindsey Graham S.C.

Charles E. Grassley Iowa

Orrin G. Hatch Utah

Dean Heller Nev.

John Hoeven N.D.

Cindy Hyde-Smith Miss.

James M. Inhofe Okla.

Johnny Isakson Ga.

Ron Johnson Wis.

John Kennedy La.

Jon Kyl Ariz.

James Lankford Okla.

Mike Lee Utah

Mitch McConnell Ky.

Jerry Moran Kan.

Rand Paul Ky.

David Perdue Ga.

Rob Portman Ohio

Jim Risch Idaho

Pat Roberts Kan.

Michael Rounds S.D.

Marco Rubio Fla.

Ben Sasse Neb.

Tim Scott S.C.

Richard C. Shelby Ala.

Dan Sullivan Alaska

John Thune S.D.

Thom Tillis N.C.

Patrick J. Toomey Pa.

Roger Wicker Miss.

Todd Young Ind.


Joe Manchin III W.Va.


Lisa Murkowski Alaska (R)


Steve Daines Mont. (R)

Not Present

Would have been 'Yes'

NO Votes



Tammy Baldwin Wis.

Michael Bennet Colo.

Richard Blumenthal Conn.

Cory Booker N.J.

Sherrod Brown Ohi

Maria Cantwell Wash.

Benjamin L. Cardin Md.

Thomas R. Carper Del.

Bob Casey Pa.

Chris Coons Del.

Catherine Cortez Masto Nev.

Joe Donnelly Ind.

Tammy Duckworth Ill.

Richard J. Durbin Ill.

Dianne Feinstein Calif.

Kirsten Gillibrand N.Y.

Kamala Harris Calif.

Maggie Hassan N.H.

Martin Heinrich N.M.

Heidi Heitkamp N.D.

Mazie K. Hirono Hawaii

Doug Jones Ala.

Tim Kaine Va.

Amy Klobuchar Minn.

Patrick J. Leahy Vt.

Edward J. Markey Mass.

Claire McCaskill Mo.

Robert Menendez N.J.

Jeff Merkley Ore.

Christopher S. Murphy Conn.

Patty Murray Wash.

Bill Nelson Fla.

Gary Peters Mich.

Jack Reed R.I.

Brian Schatz Hawaii

Chuck Schumer N.Y.

Jeanne Shaheen N.H.

Tina Smith Minn.

Debbie Stabenow Mich.

Jon Tester Mont.

Tom Udall N.M.

Chris Van Hollen Md.

Mark Warner Va.

Elizabeth Warren Mass.

Sheldon Whitehouse R.I.

Ron Wyden Ore.


Bernie Sanders Vt.

Angus King Me.

bottom of page